AIA Maine’s 2010 Design Awards program carries on a 25 year tradition of recognizing the important and diverse work of Maine architects and at the same time incorporates current knowledge and technology. This year’s competition recognizes both the art and science of our craft, with an increased focus on sustainable design in the design submissions and design awards process.

Under the terrific leadership of Bruce Norelius, AIA, the Design Committee developed a new submission format incorporating sustainable design criteria and reduced travel-related carbon emissions by holding virtual committee meetings via Skype and taking the submission boards to the jury. This will be the first year that the Design Awards Catalog will be entirely online, saving a few trees and increasing access to the catalog.

Thank you to all who submitted your work and all who provided financial support. Thank you to Bruce and members of the design awards committee, for your many hours of work and for a job well done.